Your Current Weather
Vernon, AL
heavy intensity rain
humidity: 93%
wind: 10mph NNW
H 53 • L 50
Weather from OpenWeatherMap


The Lamar County Gas District was established in Lamar County on May 26, 1954 to include the town of Kennedy, Millport and Vernon, with the main office being in Vernon, Alabama.

The Mayors who founded and established the Lamar County Gas District were Mr. Morgan Brown of Kennedy, Mr. Ward Miller of Millport, and Mr. R.E. Bostick of Vernon. The original Vernon office was managed by Mr. R.E. Patterson.

The original board members were Mr. R.E. Bostick, Mr. Vance Johnson and Mr. G. T. Walker. The office was located in the town of Millport for several years. Mr. J.C. Nabors was the office manager and Ms. Mildred Holliman was the clerk.

Former managers of the Vernon office have been Joe Ray Moore and John (Beech) Hankins. Our present managers are Fred Ray Savage, Outside Manager, and Melinda Herren, Office Manager.

Current Employees

  • Fred Ray Savage
  • Melinda B Herren
  • Larry Smith
  • Jerry Merchant
  • Cathy Jordan
  • Thomas Pennington

Hours of Operation

  • Monday, Tuesday and Thursday: 8am – 4:00pm
  • Wednesday: 8am – 12pm
  • Friday: 8am – 4pm

Observed Holidays

  • New Years Day
  • MLK Day
  • Good Friday
  • Memorial Day
  • July 4th
  • Labor Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day and Friday After
  • Christmas Eve and Christmas Day depending on where this day falls. If on weekend we may be closed Friday or Monday.

Coverage Area

The Lamar County Gas District provides natural gas to more than 1100 customers in the Vernon, Millport, Kennedy and Reform areas in Lamar and Pickens counties. We are owned by Vernon, Millport and Kennedy cities with a board member from each.

Quick Contact Info

Office Phone:
(205) 695-9320

Office Address:
44323 Hwy 17
Vernon, AL 35592

Mailing Address:
P.O Box 572
Vernon, AL 35592

Office Hours:
Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri: 8am – 4pm
Wed: 8am – 12pm